Translation: Golden Age of Spain

The translation of the day, a confusing mess of understanding the self:

Fin de Jorge Manrique

Conmigo solo contiendo
en una fuerte contienda,
y no hallo quien me entienda,
ni yo tampoco me entiendo;
entiendo y sé lo que quiero,
mas no entiendo lo que quiera
quien quiere siempre que muera
sin querer creer que muero.

End, by Jorge Manrique

Against myself I struggle
in a heated battle,
and I fail to find who understands me-
not even I understand myself;
I understand and know what I want
but barely comprehend he
who always wants me dead
without wanting to believe that I die.

Leave a Reply

