Working on a short story

I attended a posada today, a religious event where a community reenacts Mary and Joseph asking for shelter. It usually ends with a feast and celebration when a household (chosen ahead of time for their cooking skills) finally hosts the virgin Mary and Joseph, in most cases being played by listless teenagers on Christmas vacation.

What I found most inspiring about it was the location- an abandoned hotel in my rural town of La Feria. I won’t spoil too much of what I envision for the short story, but I will provide a photo from the roof of the hotel. I am reminded of Yeats and the beasts that slouch toward Bethlehem.

 

Leave a Reply

